## MEDIA RELEASE

## Judicial Merit Selection Commission March 7, 2013

The members of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission announced today the appointment of Representative Alan D. Clemmons as 2013 Vice-Chair of the Commission and 2014 Chair. Rep. Clemmons, Horry County, has ably served as a member of the Commission since 2008. He replaces former Chair and Vice-Chair Representative F. Gregory "Greg" Delleney, Jr., who served on the Commission since its inception.

Created in 1997, the Commission screens nominees for state judgeships for the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Circuit Court, Master-in-Equity, Family Court, and Administrative Law Court, and determines the candidates' qualifications. The Commission recommends candidates to the General Assembly or local delegation (MIE) for election. South Carolina and Virginia are the only states that use this hybrid system of merit selection and legislative election.

Rep. Clemmons commented on his appointment: "It is a great honor to be selected by my colleagues to lead the Commission as 2013 Vice-Chair and 2014 Chair."

Current legislative members of the Commission include: Chair; Senator Larry A. Martin, Representative Alan D. Clemmons, Representative David J. Mack, III, Representative Bruce W. Bannister, Senator Floyd Nicholson, and Senator George E. Campsen, III. Current non-legislative members are: Ms. Kristian M. Cross, Mr. John Freeman; Mr. John Davis Harrell, and Mr. H. Donald Sellers.